ABVP wins president, vice-president & joint secretary ; secretary from NSUI

ABVP wins president, vice-president and joint secretary posts; secretary to be from NSUI

Delhi University President Election Result 2018 Live Updates: ABVP's Ankiv Basoya, Shakti Singh and Jyoti Choudhary have won the posts of president, vice president and joint secretary respectively. NSUI's Akash Choudhary has won the post of secretary.


The results of the Delhi University Students’ Union elections are out. ABVP’s Ankiv Basoya, Shakti Singh and Jyoti Choudhary have won the posts of president, vice president and joint secretary respectively. The secretary post went to NSUI candidate Akash Choudhary.

The counting day remained in the middle of news for all the wrong reasons as some contesting outfits complained about faulty EVM’s. The counting, which began at 8 AM on Thursday, was suspended after members of NSUI and CYSS complained about EVM malfunction in some stations. The counting resumed following the contesting parties mutually agreed to take the process forward.

The NSUI, however, alleged that EVMs were ‘tampered’ with the election officers at the behest of the ABVP. “We have come to know that the data of seven EVMs is missing. We will raise this issue with the administration on Friday,” Chaudhary said. The NSUI will hold a press conference on Friday where Delhi Congress chief Ajay Maken will address the issue.

The DU election committee, however, said that they carried out a “free and fair” election and asked the NSUI members to check the EVMs. “Though there was a glitch in one EVM, the committee has maintained the high standard of discipline and conducted a free and fair election,” said DU chief election officer VK Kaul.

“The EVMs in question is not of the Election Commission as no such machines had been allotted or issued to DU… It seems that DU has procured these machines privately. A detailed report in this regard will be sent subsequently,” said Manoj Kumar, chief election officer (EVM).

The four posts of president, vice president, secretary, and joint secretary form the central panel, which is elected for one year.


As the DUSU results were announced, celebrations broke out with the bursting of crackers and loud cheering at the Kingsway camp counting venue. The supporters lifted the victorious candidates on their shoulders and posed for photos flashing the ‘victory’ sign.

The polls have been keenly contested over decades and are seen as a stepping stone to mainstream politics.    Union minister Arun Jaitley, Congress leader Ajay Maken, former Delhi BJP chief Satish Upadhyay, Union minister, and BJP leader Vijay Goel are some of the prominent politicians whose journey into mainstream politics began from DUSU.

Leave a Reply